Thursday, November 30, 2006

Schwarzenegger names 21 to California Broadband Task Force

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today announced the appointment of Ellis Berns, Rachelle Chong, William Geppert, Charles Giancarlo, Paul Hernandez, William Huber, Christine Kehoe, Wendy Lazarus, Lloyd Levine, Michael Liang, Bryan Martin, Timothy McCallion, Sunne Wright McPeak, Milo Medin, Peter Pardee, Peter Pennekamp, Debra Richardson, Rollin Richmond, Larry Smarr, Jonathan Taplin and Emy Tseng to the Broadband Task Force.

Click here for news release.

Under the executive order Schwarzenegger signed to create the Broadband Task Force, it is to provide the governor a preliminary report by the end of January, 2007 that identifies "administrative actions that can result in immediate promotion of broadband access and usage within California."

Apparently the governor has opted to appoint a blue ribbon commission to examine the issue. What's missing however is the consumer perspective and particularly the consumer point of view from outside California's urban centers where broadband availability leaves much to be desired.

No comments:

Web Analytics